National Advocacy Committee

The Recording Academy’s National Advocacy Committee Comprises Prominent Music Creators

The Recording Academy is an organization by, for and of music creators. The only Washington-based trade association that only represents music’s creators, its positions are determined by an Advocacy Committee of leading working music makers who work in an array of creative endeavors, including performers, producers, songwriters and studio engineers.

The National Advocacy Committee includes Brandon Bush, Chair; Rodney Jerkins, KEM, Ann Mincieli, Nile Rodgers and Dan Warner, Members; and Daryl P. Friedman, John Poppo, and Neil Portnow, Ex-Officio.


Brandon Bush

Brandon Bush is a keyboardist, composer, and producer who is a member of San Francisco rock group Train. As a sideman, he has performed on more than 100 recordings including Grammy nominated and winning releases by John Mayer, Sugarland (which features his brother Kristian Bush) and Shawn Mullins. Brandon runs a music publishing collective Songs of the Architect where he works as a songwriter, composer and producer on a wide variety of projects including film, TV, gaming and media formats that he alone can comprehend. Recent works include a commissioned ID for Turner Classic Movies and an animated short, “Thundercluck,” currently touring film festivals. Bush also serves as a Trustee of The Recording Academy’s Atlanta Chapter.

Advocacy Committee Members

Rodney Jerkins

GRAMMY Award winning superproducer Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins is an urban legend, in the flesh. Jerkins began his career at the prodigy-like age of 15. Tireless in his work ethic, the prolific young Jerkins quickly established himself as a musical force. A successful producer/songwriter/musician, megastars line up to work with him, to insure that next smash. His hit lists of music talents are Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga, Mariah Carey, Beyonce, Brandy, Jennifer Lopez, Michael Jackson, Black Eyed Peas, Sam Smith, Whitney Houston and countless others. Jerkins is a Trustee of The Recording Academy’s Los Angeles Chapter.

Kim Owens/KEM

KEM, born Kim Owens, is a GRAMMY nominated singer, songwriter, producer, and musician. Born in Nashville, but based in Detroit, KEM became a well-known part of the Motown scene. The Platinum-selling and three-time GRAMMY®-nominated artist was crowned as the Mediabase 2015 Urban Adult Contemporary Artist of the Year. Combined, KEM’s five albums have sold in excess of 2.9 million units. In recognition of his singing and songwriting talents, KEM was nominated for: a Grammy Award in 2015 for Best Traditional R&B Performance (“Nobody”); and two Grammy Awards in 2011 for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance and Best R&B Song (“Why Would You Stay”). KEM is a Trustee of The Recording Academy’s Chicago Chapter.

Nile Rodgers

Nile Rogers is a GRAMMY winning composer, guitarist, and producer. First earning dance hits as a member of the ‘70s pop and R&B group Chic, he and bassist Bernard Edwards went on to produce a string of hits for Sister Sledge, Diana Ross, Deborah Harry and others. Rodgers went on to co-write and produce David Bowie’s chart-topping album Let’s Dance, as well as material for INXS, Duran Duran, Madonna, Sheena Easton, Mick Jagger, Thompson Twins, Steve Winwood, Laurie Anderson, the B-52s, and many others. In 2013, Rodgers co-wrote and produced music for French duo Daft Punk’s album Random Access Memories, which earned three GRAMMYs including Album of the Year. Rodgers continues to tour, produce, and contribute to soundtrack projects. He is a Trustee of The Recording Academy’s New York Chapter.

Ann Mincieli

Ann Mincieli is a GRAMMY winning recording engineer, album coordinator, studio designer, and owner of Jungle City Studios in New York City; she is also a longtime studio collaborator of GRAMMY winning singer, songwriter and musician Alicia Keys, earning GRAMMY Awards in the best R&B album category in 2013 for Girl On Fire and in 2004 for The Diary Of Alicia Keys. In addition to Keys, the Mincieli has engineered projects by Jon Bon Jovi, Angie Stone, Hole, Mariah Carey, Ruben Studdard and Yoko Ono, among others. She is a Trustee of The Recording Academy’s New York Chapter.

Dan Warner

Dan Warner is a busy studio and touring guitarist. He has toured and performed with many Latin artists, including Ilan Chester, Raul DiBlasio, Cristian Castro, Celia Cruz, Jon Secada, Soraya, and Alexander Pires. He also did a six-year stint with Spanish singer Julio Iglesias. Additionally he has performed with Kelly Clarkson, Willie Nelson, KC and The Sunshine Band, David Lee Roth, and Barry Gibb. He has recorded with artists including Clay Aiken, Michael Bolton, Celine Dion, Gloria Estefan, Shakira, Cristina Aguilera, Kelly Clarkson, Ziggy Marley, Ricky Martin, Jon Secada, Julio Iglesias, Thalia, and Paulina Rubio among others. He has also contributed to soundtracks for the films Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Bounce and Striptease as well as many national and international jingles.  Warner serves as a Trustee of The Recording Academy’s Florida Chapter.


John Poppo

John Poppo is the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of The Recording Academy. A New York-based, multi-platinum selling producer, engineer, songwriter and musician, he has worked in a wide range of musical genres. His various credits include recordings by such artists as Toni Braxton, Mariah Carey, Al Green, Daryl Hall, Janet Jackson, Michael Jackson, Chaka Khan, Annie Lennox, Madonna, 'N Sync, Diana Ross, Seal, and Luther Vandross. Currently, Poppo is focused on the development of new artists for his production/management company, Pop Productions Inc. He previously served on The Recording Academy's Board of Trustees for 12 years, and on many of its national committees. 


Neil Portnow

Neil Portnow is the President/CEO of The Recording Academy.






Daryl P. Friedman

Daryl P. Friedman is the Chief Industry, Government & Member Relations Officer of The Recording Academy.